The requirement of customers and guests for a correct marking requires the appropriate expert knowledge from you as the supplier. Not only with regard to allergenic ingredients, but also with regard to the definition of e.g. "vegan" or "lactose-free", it is important to be well informed.

In order to use the foodsymbols correctly, we have compiled a lot of information on this page, each related to the individual icons. Please take your time and read the texts carefully before implementing your declarations. This provides the security your customers expect as well as the legislation. You are also welcome to use the content to give it to your employees.

We have compiled all information to the best of our knowledge and belief. Should you think of anything else that could be added, please let us know.

Symbols for allergens

The symbols in the green circle indicate allergens and substances that can cause intolerances. The selection corresponds to the substances which, since 2014, have had to be labelled in accordance with the EU Regulation (EU (VO) 1169/2011) even for unpackaged food.

  • Cereals containing gluten
    Product contains cereals containing gluten, namely wheat (such as spelt and khorasan wheat), rye, barley, oats or products thereof.
  • What is to be marked?
    The cereals wheat (hard and soft wheat, spelt, emmer, einkorn, kamut/khorasan wheat), rye, barley, oats and triticale all contain gluten-forming gluten. Thus all products made of it are to be labelled.
    Exempted from the declaration are
    (a) wheat-based glucose syrups including dextrose
    (b) wheat-based maltodextrins
    (c) barley-based glucose syrups
    (d) cereals for the production of alcoholic distillates, including ethyl alcohol of agricultural origin
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    Celiac disease (Sprue) is a chronic disease of the mucous membrane of the small intestine due to hypersensitivity to gluten, the gluten protein found in many cereals. The intolerance persists for life, is partly genetically determined and cannot be treated causally at present.
    If the affected people eat gluten-containing foods, an inflammation of the mucous membrane of the small intestine develops with extensive destruction of the intestinal epithelial cells. As a result, nutrients are difficult to absorb and remain undigested in the intestine. Accordingly, symptoms are weight loss, diarrhea, vomiting, loss of appetite, fatigue, moodiness and, last but not least, a failure to thrive in childhood.
    The treatment of celiac disease currently consists exclusively of a gluten-free diet. The difference between celiac disease and allergic reactions is the immediate type (IgE mediated). While inhalative allergies are triggered by grass and rye pollen, the main cause of a food allergy is among the gluten-containing cereals of wheat. All related wheat varieties (spelt, emmer, einkorn etc.) are also not tolerated in this case.
    A special form is the stress-induced form of wheat allergy, which only occurs when wheat-containing products are consumed in combination with physical exertion.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Since even traces of gluten-containing raw materials can lead to the symptoms mentioned above, both in celiac disease and in wheat allergy, special care must be taken in the production of gluten- or wheat-free products. In the area of bakeries, a completely separate production site is also advisable, as contamination by flour dust can often not be ruled out. In addition, the presence of gluten-containing cereals as a hidden component in other compound ingredients such as pudding powder, sauce powder, sausage products, ready-to-serve potato products, spice mixtures and aromas, etc. must also be taken into account. The natural meat alternative "Seitan" is used in many vegetarian products (burgers, etc.). Since this product is obtained from wheat protein, it must also be labelled.
  • Crustaceans
    Product contains crustaceans or products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    Crustaceans include prawn/crab/shrimp, krill, lobster, lobster, crayfish and edible crab.
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    The allergic reaction starts immediately after eating shellfish (crustaceans). The allergic reaction can be life-threatening, so that the consumption of allergens should be strictly avoided. When consuming even the smallest amounts, the usual symptoms / reactions can occur.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    The use of shellfish in food processing is limited to a few products. However, shellfish components must be taken into account especially in Asian ingredients and ready meals.
  • Eggs
    Product contains eggs or products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    Eggs of all species of birds used for human consumption must be declared
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    The egg allergy usually manifests itself in the first years of life. Besides cow's milk, chicken eggs are the most common cause of food allergy in childhood. The majority of egg allergies develop back to school age. There are known forms in which strongly heated/baked hen's eggs are tolerated. As a rule, however, eggs in any form are avoided, since the consumption of even the smallest quantities can trigger mild to severe symptoms/reactions.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Eggs are used in a variety of ways in food production. For example in bakery products (also as ice cream spreads), in snack areas (e.g. mayonnaise), in ready-to-serve sauces, in desserts, milk shakes, flavors, etc. Lecithin may also have been obtained from egg. In addition, the term "ovalbumin" is also used in lists of ingredients to describe chicken egg white.
  • Fish
    Product contains fish or products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    Among the triggers of this intolerance are freshwater and seawater fish of all species.
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    The allergy triggers in fish are very aggressive. Even small amounts of consumed fish or the inhalation of cooking fumes can cause discomfort in fish allergy sufferers. Here it can come with high-grade Allergikern likewise to symptoms. The allergens of the individual fish species are very stable and are not altered by processing (heating, soaking, smoking). It can come to the usual symptoms/reactions.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Products made from fish are hidden in Asian ingredients and ready meals, as well as in ready sauces and dressings.
  • Peanuts
    Product contains peanuts or products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    The peanut is a useful plant of the legume family. The fruit of the peanut is therefore botanically not a nut in the true sense, but a legume and therefore related to peas, lupines, soya and beans.
    If peanuts or products thereof are used, they must be declared.
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    It is known that peanut allergens are particularly strong allergy triggers. Their allergenic potential is not reduced by processing processes such as heating, roasting, etc. Allergic reactions can occur to very small amounts of peanut protein. There are also milder reactions to peanut allergies, which occur as a result of a pollen allergy, usually to grasses. However, peanuts are one of the most frequent triggers of severe allergic reactions (anaphylaxis), especially in childhood, but eating them can lead to the usual symptoms and even anaphylactic shock.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Since even the smallest amounts of the allergen are effective, caution is advised when selecting foods. Peanut products can be found in instant sauces and dressings, spice mixes, Asian ingredients and instant meals, baked goods, desserts, etc. Therefore product specifications as well as possible contaminations of delivered products have to be inquired and observed. Frying fats may contain peanut oil, for example, or lecithin may have been obtained from peanuts. This, as well as all other peanut products, must then always be labelled as such.
  • Soy
    Product contains soy or products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    The soya bean (from the legume family) is the world's most important oilseed. The allergenic potential is due to the high protein content. The declaration refers to all foods made from soy or in which soy is contained.
    Excluded from the labelling obligation are
    (a) fully refined soybean oil and fat
    (b) natural mixed tocopherols (E306), natural D-alpha tocopherol, natural D-alpha tocopherol acetate, natural D-alpha tocopherol succinate from soybean sources
    (c) phytosterols and phytosterol esters derived from vegetable oils derived from soybean sources
    (d) phytostanol esters derived from vegetable oil sterols and soya bean sources"
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    Soy allergies that occur as a result of pollen allergy (cross-reaction) are usually accompanied by milder symptoms. However, there are also sporadic severe reactions to soy. Depending on the severity of the allergy, the usual symptoms/reactions can occur when even the smallest amounts are consumed.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Soya is mainly used for the production of oil and as a fodder plant. A frequently used raw material from this plant in the food industry is soy lecithin, which is used as an emulsifier to combine water and fat. This lecithin is often found in ready-made sauces and dressings, chocolate coatings and nougat, margarines and instant cocoa.
    Soy products can be found as soy milk, tofu, tempeh, etc. in many vegetarian foods. Soy sauce is also widely used as a seasoning. In addition, "hidden" soy is often found in Asian foods, sausages and bakery products.
  • Milk
    Product contains milk (including lactose) or products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    Milk and dairy products are important proteins and calcium suppliers in human nutrition. Incompatibility reactions are known both against milk protein (= allergy) and lactose (= lactose intolerance).
    Milk is labelled by all animals, i.e. buffalo, goat, sheep, etc. in addition to cows.
    Excluded from the declaration are
    (a) whey for the production of alcoholic distillates, including ethyl alcohol of agricultural origin
    (b) lactite
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    In the case of dairy products, a distinction must be made between two types of intolerance: milk protein allergy and lactose intolerance.
    Lactose intolerance is not an allergy, but a disturbance in the utilization of lactose. The intolerance is triggered by a lack of lactase, an enzyme that usually occurs in the small intestine. This enzyme ensures that milk sugar is broken down into its components and can be absorbed by the body. Complaints only manifest themselves in the gastrointestinal tract, in the form of cramps, flatulence and diarrhea. The amount of lactose that causes discomfort varies greatly from person to person, but is significantly higher than the amount of milk protein that can cause an allergic reaction.
    In the case of a milk protein allergy, the body reacts with a defense reaction of the immune system to the protein in the milk. In contrast to lactose intolerance, other organ systems can also be affected (skin, mucous membranes, respiratory tract and cardiovascular system) and reactions up to anaphylactic shock can occur. Depending on the type of allergen, various products from the milk can also be tolerated (e.g. butter, cream, UHT milk), but allergy sufferers usually know this themselves. Milk is one of the most frequent allergy triggers in childhood. In many cases the allergy develops back to school age.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Dairy products are very often used in bakery products, e.g. sweet yeast doughs. Buttermilk powder is often used for white bread / mixed wheat bread. However, milk products can also be contained in many baking products, so that not all small baked goods (bread rolls, French bread, etc.) are free of them.
    Dairy products are often found in margarine, sausages, spreads, ready-to-serve potato products, breadcrumbs, desserts, hazelnut brittle, mayonnaise, etc. Flavors and spice mixtures, ice binders can also contain milk products, as lactose is often used as a carrier. Lactose is both a natural component of many dairy products, but is also processed as an isolated ingredient in many foods (e.g. sausage). Dairy products such as hard cheese or yoghurt, in which the lactose is broken down by maturing fermentation, contain little or no lactose.
  • Nuts
    Product contains nuts, namely almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, cashew nuts, pecans, Brazil nuts, pistachios, macadamia nuts and products thereof.
  • What is to be marked?
    The term "nut" is used here to refer to a group of nuts from different plant families. According to the Food Labelling Ordinance, these are almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, cashews, pecans, Brazil nuts, pistachios, macadamia/Queensland nuts.
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    The allergy triggers in the nut are differently aggressive. Birch pollen allergy sufferers, for example, often exhibit cross-reactions to a more heat-stable allergen, the hazelnut and almond, which is destroyed during baking. Allergic reactions are rather limited to the mouth and throat area in the form of tingling, scratching and itching. Other allergens from hazelnuts and other nuts are not destroyed during cooking or baking and can trigger severe reactions even when consumed in very small quantities.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Since even the smallest amounts of the allergen are effective, caution is advised when selecting foods. Nuts can be found in many bakery / confectionery products (there is a particular risk when processing "sweet crumbs"!), but also in sausages, ready-to-serve sauces and dressings, ready-to-prepare potato products, desserts, etc. Carry-over of nut-containing into nut-free raw materials during storage or production and from nut-containing to nut-free products in the display must be observed, especially if these contain pieces of nuts.
  • Celery
    Product containing celery and products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    Celery is a herbaceous plant from which both the root and the herb can be eaten. The strongly scented and intensely tasting essential oil is used as a spice in many ways.
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    Celery is one of the most common and potent food allergens in adulthood, accounting for about 40% of all food allergies diagnosed. Not only as raw vegetables, but also cooked and in the form of a spice (celery salt) in soups or salads it can lead to various and severe allergic reactions.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Celery is a highly allergenic spice, which is contained in sausages, many pre-seasoned dishes, ready meals and sauces, but also in salad dressings, marinades, seasoning mixtures and extracts. It often gets into the food produced with it via vegetable or meat broths.
  • Mustard
    Product containing mustard and products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    Mustard is a hot spice made from the seeds of white, brown and black mustard. It is commonly used as mustard seeds (whole seeds), mustard powder (ground seeds) and above all as a spice paste processed as table mustard.
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    The allergens are very heat resistant and very stable against enzymatic processing. In the case of a mustard allergy, the usual symptoms/reactions can occur when even the smallest amounts are consumed.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Mustard is a highly allergenic spice which, like celery, is found in many pre-seasoned dishes, ready meals, sauces, salad dressings, seasoning mixtures and extracts (e.g. from sausages). Also the use in bakery products like bread and rolls is not uncommon.
  • Sesame seeds
    Product containing sesame seeds and products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    Sesame is a plant species of the sesame family (Pedaliaceae). It is a widespread cultivated plant.
    Due to its high allergenic potential, the seed, i.e. the sesame seeds, must be declared.
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    The allergy triggers of the oilseed are not changed by heating or roasting. It is known as an allergy trigger in Germany, but is less common than other allergens. Allergies to sesame seeds are often accompanied by severe reactions (anaphylaxis). The usual symptoms/reactions can occur when consuming even the smallest amounts. With sesame oil, however, the allergenic potential seems to be significantly lower, since the majority of sesame allergens are apparently lost during oil extraction.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Sesame seed products (especially the sesame salt "Gomasio") can be found in many ready-made sauces and dressings. In addition, sesame is often used to sprinkle bread or biscuits, but also in breads with oil seeds. Sesame is not only used in Middle Eastern countries for the production of sweets (e.g. muesli bars).
  • Sulphur dioxide and sulphites
    Product contains sulphur dioxide or sulphites with more than 10mg/kg or 10mg/liter respectively
  • What is to be marked?
    Sulphur dioxide (SO2) and the salts of sulphurous acid, sulphites, have been used as preservatives and antioxidants in food production for many centuries. As an additive they are provided with E-numbers. (E 220 - 228).
    A labelling obligation exists for all foodstuffs from 10 milligrams of sulphur dioxide or sulphite per kilogram or liter in the end product.
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    Sulphur dioxide and sulphites can trigger severe hypersensitivity reactions, especially in people with asthma.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    In the food industry, sulphur dioxide under the designation E 220 is used as a preservative and antioxidant, especially for dried fruits (e.g. plums, apricots) and vegetables, chopped vegetables (e.g. horseradish), candied fruits (e.g. candied orange peel, lemon peel), potato dishes, fruit juices, jam and wine. Sulphites are also a by-product of wine fermentation.
  • Lupins
    Product contains lupines or products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    Lupins are known as garden flowers and fodder plants. The legume is also used as an additive in various dishes. It contains a lot of protein, which is why it is often used in dishes for milk protein allergy sufferers and vegetarians. Lupin flour is also suitable for the production of gluten-free bakery products and meals for coeliac patients who cannot tolerate gluten in cereals.
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    The usual symptoms / reactions can occur when consuming even the smallest quantities. A pure lupine allergy is rather rare. In most cases, an allergy to lupine occurs as a cross-allergy to peanuts, as the two plants are botanically related.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    Lupine is often used in baking improvers, wheat gluten preparations and baking mixes. But it can also be found in multigrain breads, where it stands out due to its beautiful bright yellow color. Many meat alternatives for vegan nutrition are also based on this raw material. Other foods that can contain lupine are sausages (minced meat products) and desserts.
  • Mollusks
    Product contains mollusks or products thereof
  • What is to be marked?
    Edible mollusks include cuttlefish, mussels and oysters as well as snails living on land.
  • Interesting facts about the clinical picture
    The allergy triggers in mollusks are related to those in crustaceans. The most allergologically significant mollusks are squids and snails. When consumed, even in very small quantities, the usual symptoms / reactions may occur.
  • What should be considered during the production of food?
    The use of mollusks in food processing is limited to a few products. They are most commonly used in fish salads, delicatessen salads or dishes, paella or Asian sauces and soups.
  • the product does not contain any allergens requiring labelling
    This symbol is used if none of the 14 allergens that must be labelled according to the EU regulation are present in the food.To understand this symbol, it is important to use it rather than simply not affixing a symbol. Otherwise, the consumer might think that this product has not been labelled.
  • no allergen information is given for the product
    If you cannot provide reliable information about allergens contained in a food, use the symbol with the question mark. This way, the consumer can see that he is not consuming any of the allergens for safety's sake.Another purpose would be if it were signs referring to a packaged product on which the allergen information can be found in the list of ingredients

Symbols for forms of nutrition

More and more people do not want to eat meat or do without animal food completely. Religions or the desire for certain product characteristics can also be the basis for a restriction in eating. Our yellow hexagons mark all types of product characteristics or forms of nutrition.

  • Vegetarian (ovo-lacto-vegetarian)
    Products without ingredients "from the dead animal", only raw materials from egg, milk and honey are used in animal ingredients.
  • Ovo-lacto vegetarians consume eggs and milk in addition to vegetable foods ("ovo" means egg, "lakto" stands for milk).
    This symbol is used whenever the product is suitable for this type of nutrition.If the food is completely without animal ingredients, only the symbol for "vegan" will be used.
  • Vegan
    Products made entirely without animal ingredients
  • Vegan living humans do not only renounce meat and fish in their nutrition, but also all other animal products, like milk, eggs or honey.
    This symbol is therefore used whenever the product is suitable for this type of nutrition
  • Raw food
    Products the ingredients of which have not been heated during manufacture or which have not undergone any processing, including milk products made from raw milk, eggs and raw meat
  • Raw food includes any fresh, unheated food of both plant and animal origin. In many cases unprocessed food is meant.
    Also included are foods that are exposed to slightly higher temperatures during production (honey, cold-pressed oils) as well as dried fruit, dried meat or fish. Acid pickled vegetables or cold-smoked ores also fall under the term "raw vegetables".
    Raw fish or meat are also included in this category in the case of non-vegetarian diets.This symbol can be used on all foods that meet the criteria listed.
  • whole grain
    Products whose flours, flakes, etc. contained therein are produced exclusively directly from the whole grain (incl. seedling and skin)
  • Wholemeal flour and wholemeal meal must contain all the components of the cleaned grains, including the seedling. The outer skin of the grains may be removed before processing.
    In addition to wholemeal flours, wholemeal products also include flakes (e.g. oat flakes, spelt flakes) and grain meal, which are ground together with the seedling.For certain consumers it is important from a nutritional point of view to purchase whole grain products. The symbol thus appears when the entire grain used has been milled from the whole grain.
    The symbol is not used if, for example, only 90% wholemeal cereals have been used (as permitted by the guidelines for bakery products).
  • Halal
    Products manufactured according to the "Islamic law" according to the meaning of the word
  • "Halal" means "pure", "allowed" and the corresponding commandments include things and actions that are permissible and Islam-compliant from an Islamic point of view. This also includes certain food rules and foodstuffs, such as the meat of herbivores (chicken, beef, sheep), which was slaughtered according to certain rules (by so-called slaughter). Fresh milk, fresh fruit, vegetables, eggs and vegetable oils are also included.Prohibited or prohibited foodstuffs include pork or products made with its ingredients, pork gelatin, alcohol and foods containing alcohol as well as blood-containing foods.Before using the symbol, please check carefully that the products used meet the Halal requirements and pay special attention to appropriate seals for meat products.
  • Kosher
    Products made according to Jewish dietary laws
  • The Jewish dietary laws are traditional religious regulations for the preparation and enjoyment of food and drink. They are derived from the food laws of the Torah. It is subdivided into those that are allowed for consumption ("kosher") and those that are not ("mature"). The following aspects are fundamental to the dietary laws called kashrut:1. the distinction between permitted and non-permitted animals.
    2. the prohibition of blood consumption.
    3. the division into "fleshy", "milky" and "neutral" foods.
    4. specific rules for the manufacturing processWhen labelling with the Kosher symbol, it must be ensured that the food used actually complies with the relevant food laws. You should have confirmed this with appropriate seals or certificates.
    In addition, there are factors that must be taken into account during processing and serving.
  • Local
    Products with at least 70% of their ingredients grown or produced in their own region, a supplementary explanation for the customer is recommended.
  • The purchase or consumption of food, which (mainly) comes from the region, is important for more and more consumers. Unfortunately, there is no clear legislation as to how the statement "regional food" is to be seen. It is therefore always in what the distributor sees and what the consumer expects.
    The symbol should be used with the necessary transparency. From our point of view, the following statement is useful for practical implementation:
    - in the case of unprocessed foodstuffs (e.g. fruit, vegetables, meat, fish), cultivation or rearing should have taken place in the regional environment. This could be a radius of e.g. 50km or a region (e.g. Black Forest).
    - for processed foods, i.e. sausages, bakery products, restaurant dishes, etc., at least 70% of the ingredients come from the own region (see definition above). Thus the recipes can be supplemented by the technologically necessary raw materials (e.g. sugar, salt, cocoa, sesame, etc.) which are not grown or processed regionally.
  • Organic
    Products that are produced (licensed) according to the criteria of organic farming.
  • The organic seal clearly identifies the ecological origin of the ingredients in packaged goods. In the case of loose goods, especially if they are not directly offered for sale (e.g. communal catering, buffets or menus), it is not always directly evident whether the food was produced organically.The organic symbol is used to label products accordingly. It is important, also with regard to transparency and consumer protection, that the declaration is carefully checked to see whether it is permissible. Thus, for example, in order to be allowed to refer to "organic", it is necessary for the company to have an organic certification.

Symbols for unwanted ingredients

If you want to do without certain ingredients in your diet, you can use the icons with the red triangle. They symbolize the things that you would like to know are contained somewhere so that you can avoid them.

  • Spicy Ingredients
    Products which are spicy
  • Hot ingredients in food are not always well tolerated or are desired by the consumer. The appropriate labelling with the symbol enables the consumer to see whether the product meets his or her wishes or requirements.
  • Garlic
    Products containing garlic
  • If you have a lot of professional contact with customers, you try to avoid garlic because of the bad breath associated with consumption.
    If you use the appropriate symbol to identify this type of onion, you give the consumer the opportunity to decide whether he or she wants to eat the dish.
  • Ginger
    Products containing ginger
  • Some consumers specifically reject the taste or pungency of ginger. A corresponding label with this symbol makes a conscious decision possible.
  • Alcohol
    Products containing alcohol or alcohol-tasting ingredients (e.g. rum aroma)
  • There are also some medical reasons why people have to do without alcohol. People who were once dependent on alcohol (dry alcoholics) can relapse when consuming products containing alcohol or its taste.
    Since alcohol (or its taste, e.g. of aroma) is not always obviously recognizable in intermediate products, the use of the symbol should be carefully checked.

Symbols for "free from" information

Whether for health, ethical or emotional reasons, sometimes you just want to know if a certain ingredient is not included. Here, the blue squares help and allow an easier selection of products at the buffet or in the menu.

  • Gluten-containing cereals
    Products made without the addition of gluten containing ingredients. In addition, all potential contaminations in raw materials or during production are avoided. A maximum gluten content of 20 mg per kg of food should be used.
  • Contrary to the official symbol for "gluten-free", which is awarded by the German Celiac Disease Society, our symbol is used for the production of food without cereals containing gluten. Thus no flours, meals or flakes are used from wheat species (wheat, spelt, durum wheat, emmer, einkorn, etc.), rye, barley or oats.
    GHP (Good Hygiene Practice) should be used during processing, as the patient suffering from celiac disease must be able to rely on the lowest possible gluten content. According to legislation, this is less than 20mg per kg of food.
    Please only use the symbol if you can be sure that the limits for gluten contamination have been met.
  • Lactose / Milksugar
    Products containing less than 100 mg/kg of lactose ( milksugar )
  • In the case of lactose intolerance, it is important for the consumer that the amount of lactose contained in the food is kept as low as possible, and even as low as possible.
    All products that do not contain milk or its components are lactose-free.
    If milk is present in food, a closer look is necessary. This is because lactose can be broken down by long ripening processes (e.g. in certain types of cheese), but can also be converted by enzymes. This is how the lactose-free yoghurts, milk, cream or cheese offered on the market are produced.
  • Adduct iodine
    Products to which no iodine is added (e.g. over iodized salt)
  • For many years, salt iodization was a standard in the food industry. Some industrially manufactured products were also directly added to iodine.
    Nevertheless, there are consumers who want to do without added iodine in food or have to do without it for health reasons (e.g. thyroid diseases).
    The symbol indicates when iodine has not been added to any of the ingredients used, especially salt.
  • Added press yeast
    Bakery products, in particular those not loosened with compressed yeast (baker's yeast)
  • Most breads, rolls and sweet doughs are loosened with the help of pressed yeast (cube yeast). However, there are also alternative possibilities for a good loosening of bakery products. For example, sourdough or ferment dough can be used to loosen the yeast in the dough. Alternatively, a loose crumb appearance could also be achieved with the aid of baking powder.The symbol for "yeast-free" is used if no compressed yeast has been used in the recipe and all of its preliminary stages.
  • Additives
    Products that are produced completely without additives, and the ingredients they contain must not contain any additional substances, not even those that are no longer listed because of the carry-over rules.
  • GMO ingredients
    Products for which no genetically modified ingredients were used anywhere in the manufacturing process. This 0.0% definition also applies to feed (in animal rearing), enzymes (and the strains from which they are derived), additives and processing aids.

Symbols for meat

The marking of meat contained in products is made possible by the grey-blue diamond. As a customer or guest, you know at a glance whether you want to consume this type of meat product. Because this information is really unambiguous in the rarest cases.

  • Beef
    Meat from beef (various breeds of domestic cattle, wild cattle and also buffalo and bison)
  • Pig
    Meat from domestic pig
  • Poultry
    Meat from bird species (farmed and domestic animals, wild birds) suitable for human consumption (chicken, turkey, goose, duck, wild feathered animal), pigeon, partridge, pheasant, wild duck, ostrich
  • Sheep
    Meat from sheep (lamb, mutton, sheepmeat)
  • Goat
    Meat of the household goat
  • Game
    Venison, i.e. meat from wild animals subject to hunting law (elk, wild boar, hare, kangaroo, seal, etc.), with the exception of wild fowl
  • Fish
    Freshwater and saltwater fish suitable for human consumption
  • Insects
    Insects suitable for human consumption or authorized for human consumption